Skip to main content
North Macedonia
Living in Europe, Working in EuropeEntry conditions/visasNorth Macedonia

Visa Formalities


Registration of stay

All foreigners are required by law to register themselves with the police station in their district within 24 hours of receiving an entry stamp from the country at a border crossing or airport. Failure to register and obtain the bottom half of the Registration Form can result in prosecution and a fine.

Visa free entry

The list of countries whose nationals may enter the country without a visa can be found at the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of North Macedonia

Types of visas

A foreigner who intends to enter, stay, or pass through the territory of North Macedonia is required to obtain an appropriate visa to enter the country. Visas are issued upon a visa application made by a foreigner to be submitted exclusively at the diplomatic or consular mission of the country, in person. In accordance with the positive regulations there are four types of visas for entry into the

North Macedonia: Visa A: airport transit, Visa B: transit, Visa C: short stay and Visa D: long stay.

The law provides for the following three types of residence visas and permits:

  • Residence permits, which are issued for up to three months (Visa C)
  • Temporary visas, which are issued to foreign citizens who intend to stay longer than three months. They are usually issued for a duration of up to one year, depending on the reason for the visit (Visa D)
  • Permanent visas, which are issued to foreign nationals who have been residing in the RM with a temporary visa for 5 years or more and, during this period, the individual has not left the country for a continuous period of 6 months or for a discontinuous period of 10 months.